Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Working Group on​ School Connectivity ​
The Working Group is Co-chaired by: UNICEF, UNESCO and ITU.

The Broadband Commission Working Group on “School Connectivity" will be positioned as a key consultation group and provider of advisory and advocacy guidance for the implementation of key projects related to this theme.

Objectives of the Group:

With the combined efforts of the Broadband Commissioners and other development partners and relevant external experts, the Working Group Members will advise on challenges and opportunities related to connecting schools around the world including: technologies, business models, funding mechanisms, articulating the link to quality and inclusive learning, ensuring schools provide the right skills for employability, and ensuring every young person has access to information, opportunity, and choice.

Members of the Broadband Commission Working Group will serve as an 'Advisory Group for GIGA' , a Global School Connectivity Initiative coordinated by UNICEF and ITU. The Advisory Group will act as a key consultation group that provides advisory and advocacy guidance on the development of the GIGA project. The output of the group will build on the work and research of the various members and their real market experience based on projects related to education connectivity, access, demand etc. The work of the Advisory Group will be designed so as to not cause any perceived or potential conflict of interest in future phases of the GIGA project that may involve procurement/implementation. The Working Group will also act as a key consultation group that provides advisory and advocacy guidance on the development and financing of the e-schools initiative which aims at ensuring connectivity of schools is articulated with inclusive and quality teaching and learning and better learning outcomes and employability of learners.

The aim is to benefit from the unique composition of the Commission and its expertise and perspective of the top/key players in the ICT industry, policy makers and IGOs and to engage with all relevant stakeholders and sharing ​knowledge about other existing resources and initiatives.​


WG comprises the following members: (Pending)​

 Commissioners and External Experts

  1. ​Ann Aerts, The Novartis Foundation
  2. Piotr Dmochowski-Lipski, EUTELSAT IGO
  3. Amir Dossal, Global Partnerships Forum
  4. Börje Ekholm, Ericsson
  5. Henrietta Fore, UNICEF
  6. Makhtar Diop, The World Bank
  7. Mats Granryd, GSMA
  8. Chang-Gyu Hwang, KT Corporation
  9. Carlos Jarque, Americal Movíl
  10. Dato' Ir. Lee Yee Cheong, ISTIC
  11. Kevin Martin, Facebook
  12. Patrick Masambu, ITSO
  13. Paul Mitchell, Microsoft
  14. Denis O'Brien, Digicel
  15. Rupert Pearce, Inmarsat
  16. Joanna Rubinstein, World Childhood Foundation
  17. Jeffrey Sahcs, Columbia University
  18. Rob Shuter, MTN
  19. Stephen Spengler, Intelsat
  20. Hans Vesteberg, Verizon
  21. Marcin Cichy, UKE, Poland​
  22. Mukhisa Kituyi, UNCTAD
External Experts:

  1. Bill Tai, Bitfury
  2. Vera Songwe, ECA
  3. Talant Sultanov, Internet Society-Kyrgyz Chapter
  4. Pavel Koktyshev, Institute for Development and Economic Affairs, Kazhakstan
  5. Liv Marte Nordhaug, Norad
  6. David Sengeh, Directorate of Science, Technology and Innovation, Sierra Leone
  7. Naza Alakija, SAGE
  8. Philip Thigo, Office of the Deputy President of Kenya,
  9. Rose Mosero Maina, Cabinet Secretary, Kenya
  10. Catherine Lenson, SoftBank
  11. Antonio Garcia Zaballos, IADB
  12. Christopher Yoo, University of Pennslyvania
  13. Tim Unwin, Royal Holloway, University of London
  14. Mohan Vivekanandan, DBSA
  15. Andile Ngcaba, Convergence Partners
  16. Meil Lin Fung, People Centered Internet
  17. Lauren Woodman, NetHope
  18. Amer Baig, Blue Like and Orange Capital
  19. Ellis Rubinstein, The New York Academy of Science
  20. Sampath Veeraghaven, IEEE
  21. Alexandre Barbosa, Regional Center for studies on the Development of the Information Society
  22. Enrique Hinostroza, Instituto de Informática Educativa
  23. Lucia Dellagnelo, Center for Innovation in Brazilian Education
  24. Mike Lawrence, PowerSchool Group
  25. Mutlu Cukurova, University College London
  26. Shafika Isaacs, University of Johannesburg
  27. Shyamal Majumdar, UNESCO-UNEVOC
  28. Tarek Chehidi, Tech for All
  29. Florence Ripani, Fundación CEIBAL
  30. Kathleen Siminyu Artificial Intelligence Development
  31. Whitney Lohmeyer, Olin College of Engineering; ​Akash Systems
  32. Carol O' Donnel, Smithsonian Science Education Center
  33. David Jasmin, LAMAP Foundation
  34. Mr Ibrahima Guimba Saido, Minister Special Advisor to the President, Niger​
  35. David Kelly, Executive Office of the UN Secretary-General
  36. Monica Jan, Virgin Orbit
  37. Laura Walker McDonald, DIAL
  38. Turhan Muluk, Telecom Policy Director & ITU-D Representative, INTEL​
  39. John Roman, Global Broadband Policy Director, INTEL

  1. The Group was launched during the Broadband Commission Annual Fall Meeting in New York, 21-22 September 2019

  2. The Group will hold in Person meetings at : Davos 2020, MWC 2020, WSIS 2020
Related Links
  1. GIGA – Connecting Every School to the Internet​
  2. Press Release- Kazakhstan to lead global school connectivity initiative in Central Asia​
  3. ITU News-Mapping schools worldwide to bring Internet connectivity: the ‘GIGA’ initiative gets going​