Data for Learning

Working Group Chaired by:

Audrey Azoulay, Director General, UNESCO, Co-Vice Chair of the Broadband Commission

The growth of data, their socio-economic implications and their integration in the lives and work of most people everywhere is spurring the data revolution. Industry 4.0 is transforming manufacturing industry into a new paradigm in particular regarding data ecosystems and potential and given rise to new information industries (e.g. cloud computing, 3D printing or the Internet of Things), changed how services are produced and delivered and even affected agriculture and farming. Social sectors such as education, health and social security are following suit.

However, the usage of data in education is double-edged sword. On the one hand, they offer tremendous potential to create value by improving policies and programs, driving transparent governance and better management of education systems, teachers’ empowerment, personalized learning experience, assessment, and certifications. On the other hand, data in education may be misused in ways that harm learners. This concerns learners’ data protection and security, learners’ data transfer and sharing, and the sharp increases in the amount of personal information gathered by tech and ed-tech businesses. The gaps in learners’ data protection and security are part of the broader digital divide.

Objectives of Working Group:

The Working Group Members will advise on challenges and opportunities related to including: (i) Data infrastructure and ecosystems; (ii) Data skills and competence framework for life and work; (iii) Ethic, governance, national sovereignty and cross-border data flow regulation. The aim is to benefit from the unique composition of the Commission and its expertise and perspective of the top/key players in the Technology industry, policy makers and IGOs and to engage with all relevant stakeholders and sharing knowledge about other existing resources and initiatives.

1. The Group was launched during the virtual Broadband Commission Annual Fall Meeting in September 2021.


Broadband Commissioners

  1. Dr. Tedros Ghebreyesus, WHO
  2. Baroness Beeban Kidron, 5Rights Foundation
  3. Mr. Lacina Koné, Smart Africa
  4. Dr. Jeffrey Sachs, Columbia University
  5. Professor Mercedes Aráoz, Peru
  6. Dato Lee Yee Cheong, ISTIC