Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

​Former Members of the Commission

​When the Broadband Commission was established by ITU and UNESCO in May 2010, it comprised some 50 high level personalities from around the world representing technology leaders, senior policy makers, heads of international organizations and not-for profits from across a wide range of business and social sectors. These distinguished Former Commissioners participated actively in the various fora organized by the Commission to advocate for broadband networks, services and applications as basic infrastructure that can accelerate social and economic development, improve the delivery of social services and reinforce environmental protection. The chairs of Commission are grateful for the invaluable contributions of these visionaries, who made the work of the Commission possible through their time, intellectual and political capital, social roles and responsibilities.​​

Commissioner H.E. Prof. Dr Ali M. ABBASOV

Republic of Azerbaijan

Commissioner Dr Saad zafer ALKAHTANI

Telcotank Consulting Company

Commissioner Mr Andrus ANSIP

European Commission

Commissioner Ms Irina BOKOVA

Co-Vice Chair, UNESCO

Commissioner Prof. Gloria BONDER

Latin American Postgraduate Institute of Social Sciences (FLACSO)

Commissioner Mr Paul BUDDE

Managing Director BuddeComm

Commissioner Dr Kathy CALVIN

UN Foundation

Commissioner Dr. Moez Chakchouk

Focal Point, UNESCO

Commissioner Ms Helen CLARK

United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)

Commissioner Mr. Peter CLEVELAND

Intel Corporation

Commissioner Mr Michel COMBES


Commissioner H.E. Senator Stephen CONROY

Commonwealth of Australia

Commissioner H.E. Dr Siyabonga Cyprian CWELE

Republic of South Africa

Commissioner Mr John DAVIES

Intel Corporation

Commissioner Mr Edouard DAYAN

Universal Postal Union

Commissioner Ms. Milagros DEL CORRAL

National Library of Spain

Commissioner Ms. Ingrid DELTENRE

European Broadcasting Union

Commissioner Mr. Cheick S. DIARRA

United Nations

Commissioner H.E. Mr. Ricardo EHRLICH

Oriental Republic of Uruguay

Commissioner Mr Börje EKHOLM

Ericsson Group

Commissioner H.E. Ambassador Walter FUST

Swiss Development Corporation (SDC)

Commissioner Mr John GALVIN

Intel Corporation

Commissioner Mr Julius GENACHOWSKI

The Carlyle Group

Commissioner Mr Gordon G. GRAYLISH

Intel Corporation

Commissioner H.E. Mr Ramin GULUZADE

Republic of Azerbaijan

Commissioner Mr Angel GURRÍA

Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)

Commissioner Mr Francis GURRY

World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)

Commissioner Dr Chang-Gyu HWANG

KT Corporation

Commissioner Dr Mo IBRAHIM

Mo Ibrahim Foundation

Commissioner Mr Ivo IVANOVSKI

Republic of Macedonia

Commissioner Mr A. Reza JAFARI

E-Development International

Commissioner Mr. Wang JIANZHOU

China Mobile Communications Corporation

Commissioner Mr In-Kyu KIM

Asia-Pacific Broadcasting Union

Commissioner Dr. Seang-Tae KIM

Sungkyunkwan University

Commissioner Mr Boris KOPRIVNIKAR

Republic of Slovenia

Commissioner V.P. Neelie KROES

European Commission

Commissioner Dr. Suk-Chae LEE

Republic of Korea

Commissioner Prof. Dr Klaus M. LEISINGER

Foundation Global Values Alliance

Commissioner Ms. Suvi LINDÉN

Broadband Commission

Commissioner Ms Jasna MATIĆ

WitNet Chair and Founder

Commissioner Mr Philipp METZGER

Swiss Federal Office of Communications

Commissioner Prof. Romain MURENZI

The World Academy of Sciences

Commissioner Prof. Burton LM MWAMILA

The Nelson Mandela African Institution of Science and Technology, Arusha Tanzania

Commissioner Mr. Jay NAIDOO

Global Alliance for Improved Nutrition (GAIN)

Commissioner Dr Speranza NDEGE

Kenyatta University

Commissioner H.E. Youssou N'DOUR

Republic of Senegal

Commissioner H.E. Mr Nikolay NIKIFOROV

The Russian Federation

Commissioner Ms Catherine A. NOVELLI

U.S. Department of State

Commissioner Mr Patrick Nyirishema

Focal Point, RURA

Commissioner Mr Günther H. OETTINGER

European Commisson

Commissioner H.E. Prof. Naana Jane OPOKU-AGYEMANG

Ministry of Education (Ghana)

Commissioner Dr. Armen ORUJYAN

Athgo Corporation

Commissioner H.E. Safuneituuga PAAGA NERI

Independent State of Samoa

Commissioner Mr. Esteban PACHA-VICENTE

International Mobile Satellite Organization (IMSO)

Commissioner Dr Sam PITRODA

Republic of India

Commissioner Dr Joanna RUBINSTEIN

World Childhood Foundation

Commissioner Dr. Abdulaziz Bin Salem AL RUWAIS

Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

Commissioner H.E. Mr Adama SAMASSÉKOU

International Council of Philosophy and Human Sciences (IBPHS)

Commissioner Mr. Jean-Louis SCHILTZ

Schiltz & Schiltz

Commissioner Dr. Shashi THAROOR

Republic of India

Commissioner Mr José Manuel Do Rosario TOSCANO

International Telecommunications Satellite Organization (ITSO)

Commissioner Dr Hamadoun TOURÉ

Co-Vice Chair, ITU

Commissioner Mr Sunny VARKEY

GEMS Education

Commissioner Mr. Ben VERWAAYEN


Commissioner H.E. Ambassador Sha ZUKANG

United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs