Broadband Commission Logo ITU Logo UNESCO Logo Commissioners Community    

Working Groups

At its second meeting in New York in September 2010, the Commission decided to establish a number of working groups to focus on a range of vital issues relating to specific areas of importance. These working groups have studied the issues relating to a range of different policy areas where investments are needed to maximize the benefits of broadband infrastructure and services. Eight working groups have been established to concentrate on the below themes. Views and opinions expressed by the working groups do not necessarily reflect those of the Broadband Commission as a whole.

  1. Climate Change
    chaired by Hans Vestberg, President & CEO, Ericsson.

  2. Education
    chaired by Ms. Irina Bokova, Director-General of UNESCO.

  3. E-government & PPPs
    chaired by Suvi Linden,Former Minister of Telecommunication & Transport

  4. Gender
    chaired by Ms Helen Clark, Administrator of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)

  5. Health
    chaired by Jeffrey Sachs, Director, the Earth Institute.

  6. LDCs
    Chaired by Ambassador Cheick Sidi Diarra of Mali,UN High Representative for the Least Developed Countries, Landlocked Developing Countries & Small Island Developing States.

  7. Multilingualism
    chaired by Adama Samassékou, President of the International Council of Philosophy & Human Sciences.

  8. Science
    chaired by Neelie Kroes, Vice-President, European Commission. This Working Group has produced a report containing a number of policy recommendations relating to the use of broadband networks and National Research and Education Networks (NRENs) to advance scientific research.

  9. Youth
    chaired by Dr. Hamadoun I. Touré, Secretary-General of ITU.

Flickr    YouTube    Facebook    Twitter
Contact us  | © ITU and UNESCO