Broadband Commission Logo ITU Logo UNESCO Logo Commissioners Community    


Our community comprises a select group of top CEOs and industry leaders, senior policy-makers and government representatives, international agencies, academia and organizations concerned with development who offer diverse perspectives on why broadband matters to drive its deployment around the world and shape the global agenda. It is this multi-stakeholder approach combining perspectives from both policy and industry that makes the Commission’s advocacy work unique, through a fresh approach to UN and business engagement. Indeed, one of the Commission’s key strengths lies in forging consensus between its business partners and policy members in developing a joint approach promoting broadband for public benefit, whilst satisfying minimum commercial incentives.

Former Members of the Commission

Commissioner H.E. President Paul KAGAME

Co-Chair, Republic of Rwanda

Commissioner Mr Carlos Slim HELÚ

Co-Chair, Carlos Slim Foundation

Commissioner Dr Hamadoun TOURÉ

Co-Vice Chair, ITU

Commissioner Ms Irina BOKOVA

Co-Vice Chair, UNESCO

Commissioner H.E. Prof. Dr Ali M. ABBASOV

Republic of Azerbaijan

Commissioner Dr Saad zafer ALKAHTANI

Telcotank Consulting Company

Commissioner Dr Kathy CALVIN

UN Foundation

Commissioner Ms Helen CLARK

United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)

Commissioner Mr. Michel COMBES


Commissioner H.E. Senator Stephen CONROY

Commonwealth of Australia

Commissioner Mr John DAVIES

Intel Corporation

Commissioner Mr Amir DOSSAL

Global Partnerships Forum

Commissioner Mr Julius GENACHOWSKI

The Carlyle Group

Commissioner Mr Angel GURRÍA

Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)

Commissioner Mr Francis GURRY

World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)

Commissioner Dr Mo IBRAHIM

Mo Ibrahim Foundation

Commissioner H.E. Ivo IVANOVSKI

Republic of Macedonia

Commissioner Mr A. Reza JAFARI

E-Development International

Commissioner Dr Seang-Tae KIM

Sungkyunkwan University

Commissioner V.P. Neelie KROES

European Commission

Commissioner Prof. Dr Klaus M. LEISINGER

Foundation Global Values Alliance

Commissioner Mr Keng Thai LEONG

Infocomm Development Authority of Singapore

Commissioner Ms Suvi LINDÉN

Broadband Commission

Commissioner Ms Jasna MATIĆ

Republic of Serbia

Commissioner Mr Paul MITCHELL

Microsoft Corporation

Commissioner Mr Sunil Bharti MITTAL

Bharti Enterprises

Commissioner Mr Jay NAIDOO

Global Alliance for Improved Nutrition (GAIN)

Commissioner Dr Speranza NDEGE

Kenyatta University

Commissioner H.E. Mr Youssou N'DOUR

Republic of Senegal

Commissioner Mr. Denis O'BRIEN

Digicel Group

Commissioner Dr Armen ORUJYAN

Athgo Corporation

Commissioner Mr Esteban PACHA-VICENTE

International Mobile Satellite Organization (IMSO)

Commissioner Dr Sam PITRODA

Republic of India

Commissioner Prof. Jeffrey SACHS

United Nations and Columbia University

Commissioner H.E. Mr Adama SAMASSÉKOU

International Council of Philosophy and Human Sciences (IBPHS)

Commissioner Mr Jean-Louis SCHILTZ

Schiltz & Schiltz

Commissioner Dr Shashi THAROOR

Republic of India

Commissioner Mr José Manuel Do Rosario TOSCANO

International Telecommunications Satellite Organization (ITSO)

Commissioner Ms Sun YAFANG

Huawei Technologies

Flickr    YouTube    Facebook    Twitter
Contact us  | © ITU and UNESCO